Through a Shattered Mirror


Have you ever had the opportunity to look at your image through a shattered mirror? What is seen there is nothing short of incredibly fascinating! In that shattered image lies reflections of YOU, shards of reality depicting an overarching broken image; an offset eye, an elongated arm, crooked lips, lopsided ears, broken fingers, a missing foot.  To say that the picture reflected back resembles a Picasso painting would be a gross understatement!

Gazing at that shattered image, the eye cannot help but be drawn to the unusual array that that comes together jaggedly as our own personal reflection. It’s a reflection that is flawed, yet in those flaws there is beauty.  One might even argue that BECAUSE of those flaws, there is beauty! Picasso seemed to have a handle on this as he met his artistic calling.  Paul also understood this when he wrote in 1 Cor 13:12, “Now we see things imperfectly as in a cloudy mirror, but then we will see everything with perfect clarity. All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely just as God now knows me completely.” (NLT)

The concept of flaws …. This is a tough concept to tackle. Personally, I desire to do and be my very best but, like everyone, I am plagued by several character flaws that block that goal. However we are still mandated by Scripture in 1 Cor 10:31 (ESV): “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.”  (emphasis mine) To give less than our best is not God-glorifying. And as I always remind my five year-old, HE KNOWS!  Yet the key lies in doing our personal best.  Running through the frantic paces of life, we all too readily see the other person’s best and try to emulate that. When we fall short, we revisit our effort with the all too common question, “What did I do wrong?”  The wrongdoing is that we attempted to be someone else other than who we were created to be. In Psalm 139, the Psalmist reminds us that God created each of us uniquely, marvelously, and wonderfully complex. That shattered mirror reflects back the wonderful complexities that intertwine to make us unique. And each piece is there for a reason, serving a purpose that we often do not see.

Recently a good friend pointed out that I was excessively hard on myself. (It’s OK … I requested a list of weaknesses!) It’s definitely not the first time I’ve been told that either. I’m coming to realize that I have a tendency to focus on the brokenness in that mirror; the spaces in between each small piece that comprises my whole person. While it’s fine to have high expectations, focusing on the brokenness does not provide an accurate representation of who I am and what I’m worth.

So what WILL provide an accurate representation?  We clearly cannot rely on our own views; they are distorted. Nor can we rely on the views of others since that would assume that we are attempting to earn their acceptance.  The focus needs to be on LIVING OUT OUR UNIQUENESS … simply being ourselves and resisting the tendency to become lost in whom we think we should be.

God didn’t utter the word, “Oops!” when He created me, nor when he created YOU.  We are as we were meant to be. My challenge comes in discovering my uniqueness, acknowledging it, and living it. Can I invite you to do the same? Take a look in that mirror, understand it is shattered, but understand also that God sees us through HIS mirror.  It is clear. It is whole. It is perfect.

Leave a Reply

