Knee-Jerk Notions


Gorilla Glue is probably one of the best modern-day inventions.  It seems to be an oft-thought of solution for a vast number of situations that occur in our household based upon it’s ability to create a permanent bond between an almost limitless variety of items.

When the top of my coziest slipper found it’s way free of the slipper’s sole last year, my first thought was … Gorilla Glue! Without any hesitation (or much forethought), I placed an ample supply of the product in between the two surfaces of my slipper. My second thought wasn’t far behind … Pressure! Knowing this product worked best under pressure (just like me), I decided to place my foot into the slipper and apply that pressure while I navigated through my Facebook messages that evening.

It worked like a charm. Really, it did. But it did MORE than intended. While it did, in fact, stick the sole to the slipper top, it ALSO stuck my foot to the inside of the slipper proving that this was probably not my most brilliant moment! So what went wrong? As I pried the outer epidermal layers from the skeletal remains of my right foot, I realized that there were definite drawbacks to swift solutions, even when the issue at hand was of minuscule magnitude.

After initiating my knee-jerk notion of using my foot to apply the pressure required of Gorilla Glue, these were the lessons learned:

  • The first solution is not always the best;
  • Some solutions can be more painful than others;
  • Planning for all potential outcomes is always wise.

Often I learn lessons without the loss of body parts. Other times valuable lessons are somewhat elusive, albeit more permanent than Gorilla Glue bonds themselves when they come with a cost. While I quite liked the sole of my foot as it was, I must admit … I enjoyed the softer, callous-free foot while it lasted.

Knee-jerk notion: Could Gorilla Glue double as a spa treatment?

7 responses to “Knee-Jerk Notions

  1. Another lesson learned is that if you try to rush doing something you’ll end up doing a poor job.
    How did you get it unstuck though?

    • Exactly right, Kamilla! Fortunately I realized it soon enough that the slipper did not become a permanent part of my foot! Getting the glue off was quite a feat however (pun intended!). Using a pumice stone removed most of the glue. Small amounts remained and I simply couldn’t fathom removing another layer of skin to get them off, so I tried olive oil. That helped the remaining glue to ball up so I could literally pull it off. The oil also supplied my foot with a very necessary soothing effect. I think the skin was very dried out from the glue!

    • Thanks for stopping by to read my post, BTW! 😀

  2. Oh no! I’m a big fan of the Gorilla Glue, too, but since I know how well it works I’m paranoid about getting it on me.

    • HA!! I little paranoia would have served me well in this case, Katie! In my speech, whatever is in my mind for longer than five seconds comes rolling off my tongue! Seems that my actions are following suit! Scary!!

      I’m enjoying your blog, BTW! Did you read my take on the Game of Life? Much like yours!! =)

  3. Dr. Scott Yorkovich

    Amy, Great lessons! “The first solution is not always the best” might perhaps be a law. I wrote in my blog this week (http://wp.me/p2kaWb-zZ) that “Plan A” rarely works out and that “Plan B” (… or C or D …) is what we often go with. It’s funny, though, how we get emotionally attached to the first solution and frustrated when we have to make adjustments.

    • How very true … We DO get emotionally attached to the first solution, likely because it stems from our *base of operations*. The way I initially interpret a situation and concoct a resolution is how I’m hoping others see it as well. It requires some significant mental processing for me to HOLD BACK, LISTEN, and CONSIDER Plan B, C, D, etc. (even when the other plans ALSO come from within!!). Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

