It CAN Always Get Worse!


Image

How was your week? Mine felt unbearably long and there were many times I was sure Friday evening would never arrive – or if it did, I would somehow miss it amid the chaos of life. The proverbial nail was driven into the casket this evening as my six year old spilled his milk on the peanuts I had just spent two hours shelling while our four month old puppy pounced excitedly between his rawhide bone and the sweet, dripping kitchen table unsure which way to run in the 1.5 square feet of space available. Admittedly, bedtime could not come soon enough – if not for the young ones, for me.

OK. It can always get worse. When I’m tempted to feel tapped, I try to remind myself of that fact. For example, Rasputin, the iconic Russian religious advisor to the Romanov family, definitely dealt with greater grievances. Hated by many in a country where he held significant influence and power (not an unusual feat in and of itself), he experienced trials and tribulations beyond what I’d wish on my worst enemy. Rasputin was stabbed, poisoned, shot three times, clubbed, and drowned – and with the exception of the stabbing, it all happened in one evening!

I can’t top that. More importantly I don’t even want to try! Incomplete homework assignments, piles of laundry, sticky floors, dinner dishes, spilled milk, and puppy poo all plague my week, but I can tackle those consistent challenges that attempt to derail my days. And much like Rasputin, I don’t go down without a good fight. But his life, and subsequent death, serve as a stark reminder that it can always get worse!

So how did you say your week went?

10 responses to “It CAN Always Get Worse!

  1. After reading this I’d have to say my week was pretty much perfect! 😉

  2. You have an action packed weekend. 🙂
    Mine’s a boring one, sitting infront of the laptop the whole day -__- dull……

  3. Ha! Good point. Next time I think I’m having a bad day, I’ll think of Rasputin.

    • I know, right? It was interesting that both my oldest son and husband lamented the long week JUST prior to my reading this post to them! =) Thanks for stopping by and reading!! Much appreciated!

  4. Happy I am done with that part of my life 😀 But I could still use Rasputin on certain days!

Leave a Reply

